Animal Totems – Feather Energy

Hawk Feather I found on my balcony

Hawk Feather I found on my balcony

For the past two weeks or so, while out for my walk, bird feathers have unexpectedly shown up along the way. Mostly crow feathers, but over the weekend, while walking along the beach, I found two pelican feathers, beautiful plumes 14 inches long!

Pelican feathers found at beach

Pelican feathers found at beach

Whenever certain patterns repeat themselves to me that are somewhat out of the ordinary, I take notice and listen on the inside that I might feel the vibration of what is calling my attention over and over again.

Pelicans in flight over beach in Half Moon Bay

Bird energy seems to be calling to me, and recently I started to collect the feathers as they seem to fairly shout for my attention. Yesterday, I saw a blue heron, the second one within a couple months time. They are stately birds, breathtakingly beautiful!

Blue Heron in Long Beach, CA from Reef Restaurant

Dear Higher Self, why the special preponderance of feathers and special birds at this time?

The feathers are like sensitive wands that can be used to gather the finest impressions of vibrations around and within your body. Just as birds are extremely sensitive creatures, their feathers also pick up the most subtle of energies. As you hold them in your hands, they can be used to not only gather energy but to also project thoughts and intentions. The feathers are showing up as a way to show the pathways of inner flight. They come to you unbidden and unlooked for and yet arouse a sense of awe and reverence for the wonder that they represent. Like the noble Blue Heron, learn to be still and receive the vibrations of all elements of Nature.

Beauty enfolds you in Her wings of dark mystery! Receive and listen to the song of Her flight within your heart. Can you hear the crow in the distant reaches of your imagination? Listen to her now, feisty and playful; versed in the art of trickery and transformation. She is placing feathers upon your path that you might understand the mystical path of vibration and song that you walk. Listen to and experience the connection that you have with all the Earth’s elements! They convey so much to anyone who would take the time to listen. Listen not only with your ears but with all the sensitivity of your finest awareness.

You are surrounded by an aura of light and sound, like feathers dancing in dynamic interplay with the body. And the body is far larger than what the limiting thoughts believe it to be. The eyes “see” it circumscribed and limited by a certain form that you have grown accustomed to; and yet if you close the eyes and “feel” deeply within, it is easy to experience consciousness far beyond the boundaries of physical form. You are that energy, expanded through all space!

As you go for a walk, or sit at your desk, feel the energy component of your consciousness, far beyond the form of the body. How wonderful it is to feel that sense of expansion, as though you had long feathers of light touching and connecting with all Nature! No longer circumscribed by limiting thoughts, you can float with the clouds or soar with the birds through the freedom of skies, unencumbered by beliefs of limitation!

White Egret at Shoreline Sanctuary

5 Comments

Filed under animal totems, consciousness, freedom, Higher Self, mind, Places beyond the mind, Receiving Spirit

5 responses to “Animal Totems – Feather Energy

  1. nathan

    god bless you ———-general comment prayer

  2. Thank you so much for this article today. I lost my boyfriend to a truck accident on March 8th… it has been devastating.

    As I have been grieving, I have been especially aware of animals that have shown up. There were many turkey feathers at the accident site and had picked up a feather… also, yesterday I saw 3 wild turkeys on the same roadway and have looked up the wisdom of turkeys which actually totally coincides with who he was as a person and his purpose here on earth.

    I thank you for this article today.

    Namaste!
    Julie

  3. Dear Julie,
    I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your boy friend! Sending you my warmest thoughts and prayers!

    I’m glad you found my article. Animals seem to have a way of showing up in special ways during times of sadness and loss to help us with their particular energies. It is like Spirit manifesting through our animal friends to give us comfort and to reaffirm the connectivity of all things.

    Praying that you find comfort during this time. Thank you for sharing!

    Bruce

  4. 2009 it has been birds for me as well, mainly eagles, hawks and herons. Lately I’ve seen many feathers however I haven’t collected them as they are mostly crow and seagull feathers.

  5. I happened upon your post as I’m writing a poem on feathered totems for my poetry blog. Can’t help but note some synchronicity here as I used to live in Half Moon Bay and also left a monastic type life (the convent). Lovely post. Animals and birds, in particular, speak to me so often. Peace to you.

Leave a Reply

