Lucid Dreaming – Learning to Wake Up in Dreams

The following post is a response by Higher Self to questions about Lucid Dreaming and how to “wake up” in dreams. The practice of Lucid Dreaming seems to be greatly enhanced by the moment to moment awareness during the waking consciousness of just “Being,” releasing attachments to habits of thoughts that keep the mind in constant states of agitation and distraction.

Ancient Memories

Ancient Memories

Every night in sleep you easily slip into the land of dreams where the body and mind naturally remains for the duration of the sleep cycle. There is no struggling to achieve that state. There is a natural shift in consciousness from the waking to sleep states.

When you are able to consciously enter those realms then you will know the power to also manifest what you desire; for just as you are able to consciously create in dreams, you will also learn to create in waking consciousness. The normal tendency is to fall asleep without awareness and thus miss out on the opportunities that are presented to you each night. But once in awhile you do awaken in dreams, glimpsing the beauty and lights of vast worlds within.

Yes, the beauty and freedom is indescribable. That type of awareness seems to come as gifts and not something I can will to happen.

You will find it more and more a natural state as you learn to just observe with deep awareness during waking moments. It’s not something to be forced. Rather, this state of awareness requires a deeply relaxed body and mind.

As you learn to “awaken” during your waking moments the more you will find yourself “conscious” during times of sleep. This is not to say that your normal waking consciousness will be active. Rather, awareness of deep states of peace will be experienced. Most of your waking moments are more like a kind of sleepwalking, guided mainly by unconscious habits of mind. As you bring awareness into your life you will find yourself less and less governed by habits, and more and more attuned to the consciousness of the natural state of Bliss within.

Observe your thoughts. As you watch without attaching to them you find that the habitual flow of thought-forms begin to fall away as the consciousness of the moment opens up, like the blossoming of flowers. As you continue to watch you will find that the moments of stillness and freedom from thoughts gets longer and longer. Just continue to observe. The mind then glimpses the Silent Observer behind the million galaxies of thoughts, free from the incessant march of mental phantoms that haunt us in waking moments as well as during sleep!

Habits of mind can be great tormentors as they include habitual fear thoughts and memories. Like a broken record they go on and on, constantly replaying mental scripts that dredge up deeply engrained habits of feeling and thinking. But again,…awaken in the dream! Breathe deeply, exhale and relax into the consciousness of the moment. In the awareness of the moment, thoughts have no “time” to attach to, for thoughts need time to have meaning. In the exquisite moment, there is not a hairbreadth of time…there is only the consciousness of “Being.”

Do this now: just simply “Be,” without thinking, just observing and feeling. As you release thoughts along with any desires to control or attach to them, a deep letting go occurs, a kind of opening up happens, allowing room for Divine Consciousness to step in.

55 Comments

Filed under Conscious Dreams, consciousness, Dreams, freedom, mind, Observer, Places beyond the mind, Receiving Spirit

55 responses to “Lucid Dreaming – Learning to Wake Up in Dreams

  1. Mr. PWNGE

    yea, yea. I know how to lucid dream but how do you WAKE UP?! when im in a lucid dream and try to wake up, i can’t and it gets scary. i have to wait a LONG TIME just to finally wake up and thats when the fause awakenimgs come in.
    HeLP ME!!!!!!!!1….. please?

    • Yes, lucid dreams can be scary, especially if you’re in that state of “sleep paralysis.” Something that I do that works every time is to focus at the spiritual eye area (point between the eyebrows) and chant “Om” while calling upon my guides. I do this not only if I’m frightened during the dream, but whenever I find myself conscious during them. It seems to uplift the quality and direction of the experience. At the same time, I relax and do not fight to wake up. Struggle and fight only seems to make matters worse. Also, why would I want to wake up from such beautiful dreams? Something else to consider is that the lucid dream state can be an extremely blissful experience. The important thing to remember is the knowing that you are protected when you call in the power of the Divine Light. With this knowing comes relaxation and openness to the Love vibration. Anyway, hope this helps…

      • Mr. PWNGE

        Thank you very much! Now I can sleep without a freaking zombie crashing into my house when I lucid dream! Oh, yea, Hears a good tip i learned while lucid dreaming: Don’t look in mirrors while lucid dreaming! Your mangled body’s reflection can frighten you into a nightmare… but you properly already know that, don’t you? Thanks again! :)

      • Thanks for the tip! I do recall how the body can look quite distorted when looked upon during a lucid dream. It’s a fascinating dimension, though, where the body does not impose any limitations and incredible realms of beauty open up.

    • Alice K

      I had this problem, too. At first, I’d wake up every time I finally went lucid after just a few seconds, to my extreme irritation. I couldn’t keep a grip on the lucid dream. But one night, when I wasn’t purposefully trying to be lucid, it happened anyway and with greater depth. However, it quickly turned into a nightmare because I believe I was at a loss of what to do because it was so unexpected. I went into a small White room, built into volcanic rock. If you’ve ever seen the house of César Manrique you’ll see what I mean. But there was a tiny crawlspace above my head to the left of the door, which had a few daylight filled windows in it. I shut the door (big, heavy, wooden Spanish monastery kind of thing) and investigated the crawlspace, but it was only big enough for a small child to crawl into. I went to the other end of the room, because in the opposite corner there was a narrow vertical slit between the back wall and the side wall. Overhanging the slit was a large piece of brown rock, so when I got closer to investigate I got wedged beneath it. Just as I looked back at the door, thinking, “Crap. What now?” it opened and a hunched over figure in an old, dirty coat shuffled in. He looked towered me, and I saw that his face was a dark green, dusty velvet bag with a White skull painted on it. Instantly, I panicked and tried to force my way into the tiny slit (still not sure why it didn’t work, I don’t think I approached the problem in a calm way!) and I couldn’t. It just closed around my arm. The figure was getting closer and closer, and I looked at my hands, thinking, “Wake up, WAKE UP!” but it didn’t happen. The figure was right in front of me, and I decided to just close my eyes. Then I woke up! I don’t know if my lucidity kind of “timed out” or if closing my eyes was the key for it to end, but either way it happened. After that, I had three false wake-ups in a go so when I eventually woke up I was a little shaken! Even so, it was a deeply fascinating experience and should it happen again I will experiment with it.

      • Thanks Alice, for sharing your fascinating lucid dream! I wonder who or what the “hunched over figure in an old, dirty coat” represented? It’s amazing how the unconscious presents to us in our dreams, isn’t it? Every aspect is created by our powerful consciousness!

        To me it sometimes feels like the so-called “real, waking consciousness” is more and more like the lucid dream that we cannot seem to “wake up” from. The day-to-day world, with all of its challenges, surprises, heartaches, joys and sorrows, can be like the recurring nightmare of our dreamtime–especially if we haven’t learned to deal with the life lessons that ask for resolution.

        Issues we do not wish to face in the waking state continue to haunt us as recurring circumstances (like recurring nightmares). In other words, we seem to draw to ourselves the same set of problems again and again until we face them squarely to learn the messages and lessons they impart. Sometimes, I just want to “wake up” and be over with the recurring fear patterns (of narrow and limited thinking) that come again and again to haunt my daily waking state.

      • Genius.Otaku

        Tip: don’t ever panic in lucid, don’t think about ghost, monster, mystical creatures, demon, devil either… You might meet them… ;D

  2. Mr. PWNGE

    Oh yea, sorry for the bad grammar. I was in a rush. :)

  3. Mr. PWNGE

    Oh yea, two more things: Sorry for posting so many comments and also sorry if I sounded rude in my first comment, like I said, I was in a rush and frustrated that I could not find any site that would help me until now :) Thanks Again!

    • trisha

      T_T i had a lucid dream a while ago then i went on google-ing trying to find some answers and if other people have experienced the same thing XD
      I was in my bead trying to get up and panicking because i was fully aware that i’m already dreaming . i ran towards my bathroom tried to wet my face and when i looked at the mirror, my face was so scary lol. so i tried to run downstairs and everything along the way was just stopping me like the door wouldn’t let me go outside my room at first. since this was my 2nd lucid dream, i thought about making someone from the dream to wake me up (yeah it’s a stupid Idea XD) as i got downstairs i saw our helper and i cried for help I told her to wake me up but then she couldn’t see me. crap~ and all the while i was dreaming, i even forgot how to breathe lol

      they say that it’s sleep paralysis~ check it out

  4. Mr. PWNGE

    Yeah! If you can get over the rather scary stuff of a Lucid Dream, you can piratically do anything! Thank you and Happy Dreaming! :D

  5. trisha

    maybe i should try that “om” thing next time XD

  6. Mr. PWNGE

    Hey, letsliveinpeace, I have one more question, is there any other way to lucid dream without the WILD technique? I hate having to go into sleep paralysis just to lucid dream. I keep seeing this big black monster on top of me! Its scaaaary!!! It is holding down my chest and starts to feel like its strangling me! But when I lucid dream I then remember it and find out it is just a hallucination. I’ve tried your “Om” thing and it worked but when I get to the lucid dream, the big black monster starts attacking me from inside the dream! And then I wake up unsatisfied, lol. Got any advice? Oh Yeah, Trisha, That sounds scary!!! If that happened to me, I would be to scared to sleep!!! lol b

    • Hi Trisha and Mr. PWNGE,
      Something that is helpful for me and that ensures a “smoother ride” during my regular sleep (as well as during lucid dreaming) is the practice of “smudging” or clearing myself before bedtime. I also keep some power objects in the house: mainly my Crystal Singing Bowls, Tibetan Metal Singing bowls, different types of crystals and rocks, etc. It’s also very important to keep these items clean and to clear them often (as they can pick up and hold whatever negativity or unclean energies that may be in the environment). You will find through your own experience what items work for you. Some items can be too energizing (and so may impede sleep). Also, it is helpful to invoke the presence of your Guides and Angels as you fall asleep. Regarding the WILD technique (Wake Initiated Lucid Dreams), is it just the sleep paralysis part that you find uncomfortable (if not scary)? Have you tried asking the big black monster what business it has in your dreams? If it is a dark entity, you want it out of your dream and it can be done by “Om-ing” and even stating strongly, “You don’t belong here!” I’ve had plenty of experiences with entities. At a certain point, when you “know” you are safe and protected by your own inner light and power, then you are not so bothered. If I find myself struggling to awaken from sleep paralysis, I automatically place my attention at the spiritual eye and chant OM. The struggle then ceases and I usually find myself in a full-blown lucid dream. Anyway, there is so much that can be learned! Have fun!

  7. Mr. PWNGE

    Thanks for the help! Oh yeah, when I go into sleep paralysis, I get scared because of all the colors and second vibrations in my ear, since my mind thinks I’m sleeping even though I’m not, it starts to dream. But since I’m really awake, I start to hallucinate. Since I’m scared, my mind dreams scary dreams but I’m awake so instead of dreams, it Hallucinates. I have heard of something called the “Old Hag”. Its when a big black monster gets on you and strangles you. Perhaps the big black monster I dream/hallucinate about is the Old Hag because I have been quite freaked out about it in the past few days. I just can not lucid dream this way. Is this the only way to lucid dream? Because I just can’t stand sleep paralysis… if this IS the only way than are you saying I should put objects that give me good thoughts by me when I sleep and stuff that gives me bad thoughts away from me? Well the only things in my room that gives me REALLY good thoughts would probably be my family photos and my cat Kali, the thing that gives me the worst thoughts would be my mirror! I’m sick of seeing that thing in my dreams! Thank you VERY much! I going to try this tonight! :)

  8. MrPWNGE

    Hey, letsliveinpeace, I had a another Lucid Dream and it was as scary as heck! Here, I’ll post it right here directly from Dreamviews: I started in a room I never saw before. I then fell of the bed and looked around. I started telepathically playing with the old Cheerios (Cereal) on the bar of the bed. I stopped doing that after 2 minutes and yelled,”Metal Worm!,” even though there was nothing there. I ran into the living room and sat on the chair. I did a nose RC and very quietly said,”Oh… CRUD!” I saw the shadow of metal worm in the room I was just in. I closed my eyes because I was scared. About a minute later I opened then and saw that I was in my bed with my cat: Kali. after that I did a million Reality Checks! Wow! Thanks a lot, Subconscious! putting me Lucid in a Nightmare like that! Screw You!!! The End. Trust me, that was one of the most scariest moments of my LIFE!!! As you know, I’m using the DILD technique. I been scared to do a simple Reality Check since that Dream because keep getting worried! WHAT’S WRONG WITH ME?!? Hbelp me, please!

  9. All the dreaming ive done latley is unlocking dreams i have long forgottin about from chlid hood ive had many encounters with strange things hovering over me the black monster u speak of i know all to well of him avoid him at all cost cause he can turn you lucid dream to a nitemare trust me i know my cat use to know when i was dreaming she slept on my chest she helped a great deal i say that to say animales are gd to have when your dreaming thanks lol take care :)

  10. And one more thing kick the black monster if any of you see him lol im still mad about the nitemare he caused me

  11. DS

    I had a lucid dream again this morning, no matter how I concentrate to wake up; I’m still getting back in my room and dream continually. To check myself that I’m still dreaming I will just simply get out of our house and the place will quickly change itself. Sometimes it will change into pier, street full of people, top of the mountain etc. every time I walk/run/turn around on my dream finding a way out and opening doors the place changes quickly.

    I tried to concentrate close my eyes in my dream and keep saying to myself this is only a dream, but after I opened my eyes the place will only change back into my room again and I’m still in a dreaming state. I tried to pinch my own finger, I can only feel less pain and that couldn’t wake me up. The last thing that occurs to me is to wait till the place will change into high place, like top of the building or cliff, and jump over it. I know that if I landed in the ground it would hurt me pretty bad and hopefully my real body will respond to it and wake up, and it worked. On my lucid dream I jumped over a high mountain full of houses, I could still see and feel my body while falling down and crashed on one of those houses and broke my waist and legs by doing that before I really woke up.

    They said you could control your surroundings on your dream while in the lucid dream, I tried to move things in our house using only my mind, but I can’t. I tried to shape shift but it didn’t work, I looked into the mirror I look much thinner but the reflrection is a little bit blurry.

    Well that’s it. I just want to share my experience on my recent lucid dream. Thank you for this site.

    • Thanks, DS, for sharing your amazing experiences of lucid dreaming! Isn’t it incredible what we can do in dreams? Especially lucid ones? I understand the predicament of trying to wake up and not being able to do so. It’s almost as though the body, mind and spirit needs to go through a certain cycle. Something that I find helpful, though, before forms begin taking shape in dreams, before vistas, entities, etc. appear, is to relax in the formlessness of deep sleep, deep nothingness. If you stay long enough in that state (easier said than done), intimations of the Great Consciousness behind all things begins to be apprehended. I don’t know what else can be said about it, but it can change the relationship you have with your belief system regarding “waking reality” in a fundamental way. Oh, what a mystery!

  12. Dontlooknow

    I want to start lucid dreaming, but the “old hag” seems to scare me a bit. Also, the part about waking up seems difficult and I do not understand it. Any advice?

    • Thanks, Dontlooknow, I understand the scary part of lucid dreaming and how much struggle it can be sometimes to wake up. Something that I do when I find myself in a scary lucid dream that I want to wake up from is to gently turn the closed eyes upwards to the point between the eyebrows and then repeat a prayer like “I am safe in the light of Spirit,” or whatever might be meaningful at the moment. I have also come to understand that part of the scariness that happens for me occurs when I “feel” entities entering the room, similar perhaps to the “old hag” in your dreams. On many occasions in the past I have seen with open eyes their forms and shadows. These intrusions stopped once I started “before sleep” rituals of prayers and smudging in my bedroom with the intention of creating a safe and sacred container for sleep and dreams.

      Feeling safe and protected during lucid dreaming is so important! These dreams come as teachers to help us work out life lessons and to help us understand the dream nature of our “waking state.” The more we relax in our waking state, the more we learn to also relax in our lucid dreams. We then begin to consciously connect with the “bliss consciousness” that is not only inherent in the dream state, but that also radiates in our waking consciousness!

  13. E-Mart

    Hi! I am also one of the poor souls who is curious about learning how to wake up from lucid dreams. I’ve been having them recently, one last night/this morning, one a couple weeks ago, one a couple weeks before that. After tonight, I understand the symptoms that happen prior to the lucid dream. Once that happens, everything seems very indicative of psychosis which has troubled me in the past/still is troubling me. That’s the most frightening part is how it makes me relive those perceptions.
    The first time it happened, I can’t remember how I woke myself up. The second time, I don’t either. I do remember having control over my body and making conscious decisions of what to do in my dream. The worst part of that time was I couldn’t tell I was dreaming. I thought I was having another psychosis experience. I tried to wake myself up by going to the bathroom and splashing water on my face, which in my dream, I felt the water which made it seem like reality. This past time, I realized what was happening, that I was lucid dreaming, and again, tried to wake myself up. I hit myself on the cheeks, but that didn’t work. Then I really focused on opening my eyes, which actually did work, and I woke up. I find this idea quite fascinating, and am a little skeptical at exploring it right now without knowing how I can wake myself up at any moment. Mostly what I’ve read in the above comments is about calming yourself helps in order to enjoy it, but I want to know how I can wake myself up, even if I am enjoying it. I don’t want to dabble away in my dreams unless I know how to get back to reality.
    Thank you in advance!

    • Thanks, E-Mart, for sharing your experiences in lucid dreaming. Sorry to hear about your difficulties in trying to awaken from them. I can only speak from my own experiences and understand that when I’m having a scary lucid dream and feel trapped in the body, it can be a very scary place! Much of the scariness for me is in feeling vulnerable to potential harm or unwanted visitations by entities. I have also come to understand that the more I struggle and fight to awaken, the more difficult and frightening the experience becomes. The lesson for me in this has been about learning to relax and surrender in the dream while focusing upon the inner light and calling upon Spirit. I enjoy staying in the realms of lucid dreams now because there is so much that can be learned and experienced through them and that also has positive affects in the waking states. Lucid dreams and dreams in general teach me through the unconscious forms and archetypes that appear in them. Things that come to me in dreams, such as serpents, insects, people, etc., usually have a counterpart in my waking consciousness. Serpents and lions and other animals seem to represent certain types of powers that are wanting to manifest in waking life, while other types of creatures or entities (spiders, insects, etc.) may represent underlying fears that are wanting to be looked at and released. At any rate, our own willingness to look at these things in dreams, while holding to the hand of Spirit, offers a rich opportunity to access incredible dimensions of power and beauty in our waking states!

  14. Hannah

    I want to lucid dream, but I’m scared I will eventually not be able to distinguish reality from a dream. HELP ME

    • Hi Hannah,

      The idea of lucid dreaming is that the dreamer becomes aware in the dream that he/she is dreaming. On the other hand, in a regular dream, we are not able to distinguish “reality” from the dream. We might be dreaming of the most outlandish scenarios and not question the experience. For example, in a regular dream, we might have the experience of being chased by zombies that have remarkable resemblances to people we know, or we might dream of talking with people who have died long ago…and still we may not even think of questioning the reality of the experience. In lucid dreams, the dreamer has the awareness of having tapped into a different dimension of “reality.” He/She might be amazed by how “real” things in the dream environment look.

      With the practice of lucid dreaming, I believe the awareness becomes more highly attuned and capable of understanding the dream nature of the everyday world we live in. This realization offers a lessening of fears and a wider acceptance of the multitude of dimensions that are available to us in the waking and sleeping states.

      Hope this all helps.

  15. Small Bear

    Hi letsliveinpeace,

    I have had only a few Lucid Dreams throughout my life, in many of them. I feel like I can feel what’s happening to me. Is that possible? Or am I just imagining it?
    Heres an example of one time I was Lucid dreaming, and felt the pain which was inflicted in it.

    I was in an old towns dock, and I fell into the water, I then went under for 5 seconds, where I was bitten in the torso by a shark. I hit it’s nose to make it let go, and eventually it did. I got to the edge of the docks and hurled myself onto the platform, but I felt like I felt the pain in the dream, but, don’t get me wrong, I loved the fact I experienced something most people wouldn’t, in real life or not.

    Even if it was something most people wouldn’t want to experience.

    My second question was, I see most people say they have bad Lucid dreams, is there a way to increase the chance of a good dream? Perhaps good thaughts before sleeping?

    • Hi Small Bear,

      Thanks for sharing your lucid dream. The sense of “awakeness” that can be felt in them can be quite amazing and, yes, it is possible to “feel” all of the different physical and emotional sensations during the dream. It may be in our imagination, but certain physical states can seem quite real, whether it be pain or pleasure.

      I find that unpleasant lucid dreams happen to me when I struggle or fight to awaken from them. It seems that struggling with what is wanting to reveal itself to us through our dreams only magnifies the fear response. Holding to the thought of Divine protection while observing the dream helps quite a bit. Much of what I have learned from lucid dreaming has been about observing the waves of feelings behind the dream, embracing all aspects of myself (the light and dark) and then releasing it all to the Infinite Stream that we are a part of…and enjoying the ride with detachment.

  16. Ashly

    I remember having a lucid dream when I was just a little girl. I was in pure emptiness, all white; although I was standing amongst a small crowd of people of all types, a lady with a baby, children, adults. I was dressed in the kind of clothes I’d wear to go play outside in the snow. I looked around growing a bit confused and afraid and started saying, “This is a dream, right?” Nobody would respond. After asking without response a couple of times I knew my answer and shouted at the top of my lungs, “THIS IS A DREAM! I KNOW THIS IS A DREAM!” The small crowd looked at me like I was crazy. I know I’ve had other lucid dreams, but that one was the most profound and obvious one.
    I would do it again, but reading the comments, I am and have always been afraid of dark entities or spirits. I don’t want to end up in a nightmare or be confronted by any kind of demon like thing. I’m just beginning to learn about the higher levels of consciousness and I want to learn everything possible, but I am very frightened of dark things or any kinds of evils. I don’t want to be. Any advice?

    • Thanks Ashly for sharing your lucid dream experience. Regarding dark entities and nightmares, what helps me to move through those scary experiences is the preparation that I do before sleeping. The most important thing for me is a clean and tidy living environment. I also keep power objects around me (crystals, meaningful pictures, etc.) Meditation and prayers is a ritual that I also do before sleeping. If you ever have to sleep in a place that you’re not accustomed to, it may be helpful to do some smudging of the place with sage or other cleansing object (along with prayers). I’ve had nightmarish experiences in places that have not been cleared of heavy energies. Hope this all helps. Preparation and creating your own sacred space for sleeping works wonders!

  17. Charles

    letsliveineace, I have only had one lucid dream moment where I noticed I was dreaming and wished for ice cream, ate, TASTED IT, and it was delicious. then, my vision fades to black and seconds later, I wake up saying, “what the he–did I just—” and that was it.

    I am now (after playing yume nikki) terrified of getting trapped because I have no clue how to wake up. I also have a hard time figuring out whether i’m dreaming or not. I hear that doing something extreme and heart pounding will wake you up, but i’m not sure. my question is…how do I wake up either naturally or on command? (i’ve also heard that drinking water before you go to bed helps you wake up early)

  18. David Essa

    I’ve had a couple of lucid dreams, but the interesting thing is that when I had newly begun to lucid dream, I would be stuck in one place or was always being chased by someone or something. Lately I have found out that whenever someone or something is threatening or chasing me, I find this amazing ability to be strong and bold. I then confront it and either scare it away or totally destroy it..like literally ripping it into pieces.
    It great…just sharing the experience…however I am curious how this change came about? How did I find this ability?

    • Thanks, David, for sharing your lucid dream experiences. I can imagine that your “waking” awareness reflects a growing ability to be strong and bold, just as in your lucid dreams. Dreams, especially lucid ones are rich with primal and archetypal energies that give creative juice to our waking world. I believe that when we are in the lucid dreaming state, we are very close to the infinite and creative source of Spirit. We may not be able to make logical sense of the experiences, but there seems to be an intuitive sense of being close to a vast and mysterious power. Keep dreaming David!

  19. Ally867

    i hope that it will be my first lucid dream tonight and I’m kinda scared of this black monster that ppl keep talking about. I will try it anyways and if I get scared I will try the om thing that you suggested but I’m still pretty freaked :( wish me luck.

  20. Darren

    Hey, I have never had a Lucid Dream before, but I would really like to. Before going to sleep, and trying to tell myself to go into a lucid dream, I get really bad images in my head (scary ones) I’m scared that these images will affect my lucid dreams. Are lucid dreams always happy ones? or can there be unhappy ones? thanks

    • Hi Kainbow, dreams (including lucid) are not necessarily always happy ones. It all depends on state of mind, physical condition, set and setting, etc. In my experience it is helpful to have a night time ritual that includes meditation and prayers for protecting the space. I’ve had some scary lucid dreams by not being careful in this respect. However, whenever I’ve found myself in a scary lucid dream, I would just focus my attention at the spiritual eye and chant “Om Spirit” over and over again.

  21. Darren

    What is it like, in the dream-state when you’re having a Lucid Dream?

    • Lucid dreams run a very wide spectrum of experiences. I am amazed that when I find myself in one of them and “look” around in the environment that I find myself in, everything seems “real,” as though I am awake in the day-to-day world. In fact, colors can be more vibrant and “alive” than in the normal waking state. I also usually find myself floating or flying high in the sky looking down and out at an exquisitely beautiful panorama. It is interesting that when I become lucid in a dream, I usually find myself somewhere that the consciousness has already created. For example, I sometimes find myself flying over the ocean witnessing blue whales swimming in the ocean. Or I may find myself floating through room after room of some place that I am unfamiliar with. A very common lucid dream for me is one in which I find myself going up a tunnel of light at extremely high speed towards a star at the end. As I look at the sides of the tunnel, I realize that the “tunnel” is made up of the galaxies and stars that I am passing so fast through that they give the impression of being the sides of the tunnel. Lucid dreams can also be a totally internal experience, without color or light, just thoughts and feelings.

  22. Nicko

    i was doing some research and i found this – a way to accomplish lucid dream, so it says that you should wake up after 6-10 hours of sleep and then when you are not sleepy anymore lay on the bed (on your back) and lay there for 15-30 minutes, then you should see patterns of light or something flashing in your eyes…it says that you should let it all pass untill it becomes so vivid that you can just step in a dream, also it says that you should not open you eyes while getting there or else you can end up in paralisys. So is this a way that i can try to go lucid (will it work) and also paralisys…there are some tips like: make a face like when you smell something bad, or try moving your toes or if you are out of body try to step in. I really want to try this but im scared of creatures(black sprits, monsters and stuff) so is this true, i mean these techniques of becoming lucid or getting out of paralysis?

    • Hi Nicko, it’s important to create a safe and sacred space for sleeping so that you know and feel that you are protected no matter what dreams may happen. As you learn to navigate the dreamscape through experience, there is less likelihood of getting caught off guard by scary dreams (lucid or not). In other words, you learn how to deal with uncomfortable feelings as they come up. This is also very helpful in the day-to-day experiences. The technique that you described can be helpful in triggering a lucid dream. After having slept for some time, the body does not need to go into deep sleep to get its rest and so it is somewhat easy to bring on a lucid dream when you go back to bed with the intention of “waking up in the dream.” Something else that is helpful is to keep the eyes half open as you are falling asleep as a way to modulate the depth of sleep. For example, if you find you are going too deep into sleep, by keeping the eyes half open, you are then more likely able to stay in that “in-between” state of half-awake, half-asleep. It just takes a little bit of practice.

  23. Miguelacho

    I heard about lucid dreaming just recently, a bit more than a week ago, through a friend who was claiming he could fly in dreams at will. I was very skeptical but I needed to try it. That same day I woke up in the middle of the night, violently, after realizing in my dream that I wasnt wearing the same clothes that I had on when I went to bed. I dont know why but for some reason I didnt try it anymore after that experience. But right now its 5am. I just woke up, this time actually frighten. I became lucid in my dream unintentionally. In my dream I realized that I have had the same dream before, I told myself in the dream: “wait, ive been here before, this is a dream” Suddenly the people who were around me, in the dream, turned against me with evil faces and started shaking my body roughly, as to wake me up. I felt that they didnt want me to become lucid. Then, I found myself almost having an out of body experience. I wasnt dreaming anymore, I had waken up indeed, but I couldnt move my body and I was feeling dizzy, didnt know in which direction my body was laying, if I was horizontaly or vertically or even upside down, floating or whatever. I was really confused because despite the fact that I could move my own body, I could clearly feel my feet being lifted from the ground by another force. It was my like my body was detaching from my body, starting through my feet. Very strange and frightening. I guess I could have let it happen, but I became really anxious and there I forced myself to come back and finally regained control of my limbs. I dont know how to interpret this. I know its all in my mind, dont know what kinds of deamons I have in my closet, Im a pretty chilled guy, but Im afraid of going back to sleep and having unintended reactions like these…I came online inmeaditaly, I just needed to share this experience. Thanks for this blog.

    • Thanks Miguel, for sharing your experience in lucid dreaming. Sounds like you also had an experience with “sleep paralysis.” This is when the body is asleep but you, the consciousness, is awake with seemingly no control over the body. This can be scary at first, but with practice it can be a lot of fun. For me, in the beginning, the scary part was always the fear of being attacked or possessed by some negative entity. There was also the uncomfortable feelings of bodily pains, intense energies around certain areas of the spine, calves, chest, etc. In this state, the body seems to be adjusting to vibrations that it is unfamiliar with. In time, the body does adjust to these energies so that they flow more easily.

      The feelings of certain body parts (like the legs) floating upwards is quite interesting, as it sometimes seems to be difficult to consciously detach completely from the body. In my experience, I recall many times when the head area seemed unable to detach. I’ve learned to relax and just be ok with the feelings, observing them and enjoying the experience. The more I relax and observe dispassionately, the more lucid the field of vibration and dream experience becomes.

      It becomes like a deep meditation, where the mind is still and the consciousness observes without strain or fight. It seems to suggest the way to be in the waking state as well.

      I believe the practice of any conscious activity that allows the experience of the sense of surrender and joy can be helpful in “letting go” during a lucid dream. Meditation, dance, sacred ritual, art, etc. can help in surrendering control of the fearful ego to the vast consciousness of the Higher Self.

      Hope this helps. Thanks again Miguel!

  24. James

    Hi, i was reading about lucid dreaming on the internet, and found it to be fascinating, so i decided to try it out. I relaxed by body with my arms beside me, and closed my eyes egnoring all the signals by brain was sending to my body to make sure my mind was asleep, which it was not. My eyes where moving rapidly, which i know was REM (rapid eye movement), also it felt like my eyelids was trying to open, but i tried to keep them closed, eventually this got annoying so i relaxed them and they opened slightly. This is when i had a emence feeling pass through by body. I felt warm and tingly and my hearing went blurred as though i was going death. I panicked so i immediately moved my body and opened my eyes to wake up. My heart was beating so fast, probaly because of the shock. Also after that, every time i tried to go back to sleep, i kept on waking up as soon as i was about to fall asleep. It was like my mind did not want me to sleep? Was i becoming lucid and should i try this again and try and over come the fear of becoming lucid? Thank you! :)

  25. This is the perfect blog for anybody who hopes to find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic that has been discussed for a long time. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

    • Thanks Emma for your kind thoughts! My approach to lucid dreaming (and perhaps to life in general) has been from a perspective of viewing the waking state as a dream, along with the practice of “waking up” from moment to moment. This seems to have given my daily life a kind of surrealistic quality, quite beautiful in allowing the exquisite subtleties of the moment to be experienced.

      Thanks again! I enjoyed your Lucid Dreaming Guide website, especially the DILD and WILD techniques page. Very nice reminders for me!

      • Jen

        Hey. I’ve been researching this on and off for over a year now. I experience lucid dreams and sleep paralysis on a weekly if not daily basis. I seem to be the only one who absolutely hates it!? I always just want to wake up and never can. Everytime I think I’m awake, I check by doing something out of the ordinary eg making my bed float, then I realise I’m still sleeping and it takes many episodes of this before my alarm goes and I have to get up for real!

        I enjoy lucid dreaming to a certain extent but I just want them to stop now and i want to be able to dream and sleep like a “normal” person….! Any advice?! Thank you!

      • Hi Jen, Sorry it’s taken so long to respond to your post. Hope your dreams are going well for you! I can relate to the frustration of not being able to wake up from a dream. I don’t know of any way to completely stop lucid dreams from occurring. It seems that once the brain is wired to experience them, the neural connections make it easier to have them again and again.

        Sometimes I also just want to sleep normally without being bothered by dreams. I must say, however, that the lucid dream experience offers such an amazingly expansive state of consciousness that I would not give it up for anything.

        In my experience (and I don’t know if this resonates at all with you), whenever I struggle with waking up from a lucid dream, it usually involves an intensity of energy moving through the body that is physically painful… Sometimes it’s just too much energy for the body to process and it can be quite uncomfortable. Once the energetic field of the body is strong enough to handle the higher voltage of energy flowing through, then it is no longer a problem.

        There can also be dreams that are just plain chaotic and confusing. For example, I once had a lucid dream that started out peaceful enough but at a certain point a whole party of souls started coming through the apartment. In my confusion, I got caught up in the chaos and then my body started to get very uncomfortable… which I then wanted to just wake up. However, struggling only seems to make things worse, so at a certain point I remembered to focus on deeply breathing and to place the attention on the spiritual eye. This seems to always help me. The challenge is to not get caught up in the struggle.

        It seems that the main approach that has been helpful for me has been the practice of conscious detachment. Another way of putting it is “Sacred Surrender.” For me, the approach of detachment also has an underlying gratitude for what is being brought to my attention. Gratitude seems to create a vibratory field that is ecstatic in nature. In the dream state, it creates a resonance that transforms the entire experience into one of Sacred Space. In a lucid dream of Sacred Space, the thoughts are still; all things, from the smallest object to the widest panoramas are exquisitely beautiful!

        I don’t know if this helps, but just wanted to share what has been helpful for me.

  26. Ameroe

    I had a lucid dream within a dream and I could not awaken. I realised then that I was dead that I was stuck in that realm. I lay down on the green grass on the edge of a clearing held onto the stems of two bamboo shoots and prayed. I then wandered around and finally sat down on a bench and talked to a group sitting there.. I confessed that I was new and they replied that they could tell.. I was anxious and the thought of never seeing my kids again filled me with sorrow.. Eventually I relaxed and stopped trying to awaken and I felt myself ease gently back into my body and I woke up with my heart pounding. You see in the dream within the dream I fell asleep in a dormitory and it was there that I was trying to return rather than to my bed in my apartment.

  27. Why would you wanna wake up from a lucid dream, the experience is incredible!

    One scary moment I had is walking into my room one time and seeing that creepy zombie-like girl from movies like the ring and the grudge. Scary right? Instead of freaking out, instead I thought to myself, she just needs someone to love. I came closer while summoning an aura of awesome, positive energy and hugged her telling her I love her and there’s no reason for me not to. She said she loved me too all the while she transformed into this beautiful, peaceful girl. We then made sweet, sweet love all night long. It was amazing.

    Accept your lucid dream for it is. If you see a dilemma, solve it using rational thoughts and good vibes! The only time I had the need to wake up from a lucid dream when when I’m unsure if I left my alarm clock on or not, so I would manually remind myself in my dream to wake up. One tactic I use is to close my eyes and listen for some “key” sounds from the outside world that you know aren’t int the dream world and wake up based on those sounds such as birds chirping, cars moving, or random noises in general. Safe dreaming!

  28. SleepDeprived1

    waking up is a one of the hardest things to achieve during lucid dreaming. For me the sleep paralysis comes into play way to much because sometimes I will accomplish a half awake state where it feels like my body is under 50 G forces. And when in not half awake and in a full lucid dream everything is twisted, halls become contorted my room is all flipped. i hate to say is but at this point it feels more like a curse that something that can be enjoyed. It is 2:14 am and I just woke from probably a solid 30 dreams within dreams where all I wanted to do was wake up. So I am to scared to go back to sleep tonight and just wanted to read others experiences. I would love to find a sure fire way out of these dreams, then I would be more bold the experiment. But without knowing a way out I know I’m in for a saga of weird shistuff.

  29. Hi! Ive always wanted to try lucid dreaming but could never catch myself trying. like ive heard of so many great experiences like you could fly and actually be able to control it. but then ive heard of some really scary ones that like contain zombies and like even looking into the mirror can be quite frightening. Now i feel so scared of just going into a lucid dream and seeing a monster staring at me or something. Im actually scared of lucid dreaming and whenever my friend or someone online talks about it i get very scared. i mean is there anything to be scared of? What can i do to not have a very scary lucid dream. ive never tried it though. I think one time when i was little i woke up in a pure white room and their was no door. i tried to feel the walls to see if their was any secret doors. i couldnt find anything! Then i weirdly screamed out loud “THIS IS ONLY A DREAM, LET ME BE FREE” (at that time i didnt know what a lucid dream was. i was so confused of what i was saying i actually broke a part of the room and was able to escape. then it was all very dark and my vision became to shatter away and i woke up on my bed panting so hard. it was so terrifying and now when i learned fully what a lucid dream is, i learned my experience wasnt even that bad. just like what can i do to not have a scary hallucination or dream? Hope you can reply, thanks!

    • Thanks Melissa, as I mentioned in my above response to Kathryn’s comment, scary lucid dreams seem to be like a “rite of passage” that takes the dreamer through the experience of primal fear as a way of showing in greater contrast the beauty and light of Divine Love. Going through dark fear (and its total lack of love and even losing the remembrance of calling upon the Divine for protection), seems to bring immense gratitude for the grace of being able to experience Love. Gratitude seems to open up our ability to surrender in the dream to things that bring fear. Sometimes it’s not a matter of “choosing” to face our fear (when we are in the thick of such dreams, it seems that the remembrance of love and the ability to choose love is obliterated). If we’re able to remember the Divine during the experience of primal fear, that is one thing, but when we go through the experience with no remembrance and a sense of powerlessness to call for help, then it is what happens when we awaken that is most important: the opening up to gratitude and love for the grace of being able to Love brings protection during our waking and sleeping dreams and a greater ability to surrender and relax.

  30. I really want to try Lucid but I’m scared of Paralysis and seeing the “Old Hag” and things like that. Please help me..

  31. Kathryn Jones

    When I was younger I believe now that I had experienced some of these lucid dreams. At the time I didn’t know what they were and most of them were nightmares. I think somewhere in my mind I knew I was dreaming but it wasn’t like it was a clear thought because of the fear and since I was a small child. It was as if I just knew something was wrong, but I couldn’t wake up. These dreams plagued me for a long time and after a while I seemed to figure out a way to get out of them. When something was about to happen or I knew something scary was going to pop out, I’d sit down where I was; on a couch, on the floor, etc. Then I crossed my arms over my chest (like a mummy) and closed my eyes, calming myself and slowly counting to ten, focusing on opening my eyes and waking. It did seem to wake me up most of the time. It’s interesting that I found an explanation to those weird dreams after all these years.
    I would like to try having lucid dreams again, though I am a bit frightened at facing some of these “creatures” people have described. I wish I had enough courage to ask them who they are and the sort. Converse with them. Though right now I feel I’m a bit of a coward. I tried the other night, though it seems like I fell asleep before I could actually get into a lucid dream? I’m not sure. But now I keep seeing things, like big shadows following me. And I see things moving out of the corners of my eyes. Could anyone give me an explanation? Is this some sort of side effect or something? I remember in the dream I had the other night after my failed attempt at a lucid dream I woke up twice. The first time I told myself I had to wake up in the dream since I was having a nightmare, and I awoke for the first time, and I thought I was actually awake until I looked at the foot of my bed and saw a woman there. Her face was deformed and she looked like something out of a horror film. Her face was twisted into a snarl and it scared the living daylights out of me, and I just remember telling myself I had to wake up. That’s when I finally woke up for the second time into reality.

    • Thank you Kathryn for your comments. The realms that are available through lucid dreaming are infinite. It can be, however, like walking through certain neighborhoods in waking state. Just as there are different kinds of physical locations on this planet with varying degrees of safety (or lack of), so it can be in the astral realms of the dream state. There are dimensions of breathtaking beauty as well as hideous realms of unspeakable horror. Depending on the resonant frequency we vibrate at, meaning the totality of our thoughts, feelings, health of the body and mind, we attract energetically the realms we are most attuned to. We are consciousness that can send as well as receive input from the ocean of consciousness that we are a part of. In my experience, shadows and things moving in the peripheral have not necessarily been an indication of negative entities. This is sometimes just a way for my consciousness to gain access to a dimension that can be quite beautiful and of high vibration. There is also the aspect of remembering to call on the Divine for protection when something scary and uncomfortable comes up in the dream; and then relaxing and detaching from thoughts/stories that can be fearful. The difficulty during this type of experience is in dealing with the intense vibrations of fear that can move or roll through the body and mind. This is where the practice of surrender is put to the test… Sometimes even the remembrance of calling on the Divine seems to be obliterated and all that exists is the vibration of primal fear. This doesn’t happen often for me… The interesting component of this type of dream is what occurs after awakening: the enormous gratitude and love that infuses the consciousness and bodily field seems to be in direct contrast to the total lack of during the dream. To me it seems a way for Spirit to impinge upon my consciousness the spirit of Gratitude for the grace of being able to experience Love. After feeling primal fear, the experience of the underlying essence of Love brings immense gratitude and a deeper ability to surrender to the Divine in all things. Going through fear in lucid dreams seems to be a kind of rite of passage or initiation. The practice of meditation and calling upon the Divine for protection many times during the day is very helpful. Keeping the sleeping space clean and sacred is also of great help.

Leave a Reply

