Creativity – Getting Into Flow

The following post is in response to a question I received in my last post regarding my creative process.

DSCF0583

Whether drawing, writing, playing music, dancing, etc., one of the most important aspects of my creative process is in “just starting,” in the sense of getting energy moving, getting past the hump of any inertia that may be present. During this stage especially, I do not judge or edit, I just create, move energy until I sink into a familiar state of flow. I’ve learned to recognize the “feeling” of flow: a state of being/feeling connected with the underlying Bliss. It’s a kind of bodily vibration/hum that naturally draws the attention within… because it feels good.

DSCF0579
My drawings have evolved. At first, I really did not know how to draw… I just allowed myself to be relaxed and to not worry about form, structure, right/wrong, etc. I enjoy the flow of pen on paper, without judging what comes through.
I usually start a drawing without a plan, immersing myself in the process of getting into flow and the bodily state of trance. It feels blissful to be in a state of creativity and flow. Whatever shows up on paper I get a sense later on of whether or not I’d like to publicly share.

DSCF0573
The themes that come to me are usually archetypes and energies that “feel” like they open energetic connections within. It then becomes an exploration of feelings and vibrations. Whenever I draw or write, I feel like I’m “playing” with the sheerest, most subtle vibrations that move wave-like through the bodily field.
Every drawing then becomes a kind of doorway for me that allows intimations of extremely fine vibratory realms.

DSCF0580
I just start drawing, moving pen over paper. Much of my art will have the same symbols (lines, circles, spirals, faces, etc.), but each art piece represents to me a kind of inner resonance of Being.
Thanks again Scott!
Here are the links to my other posts on creativity:
http://wp.me/p5JsY-3R
http://wp.me/p5JsY-38
http://wp.me/p5JsY-34

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Inspiration, Creative Writing, Creativity, trance

Leave a Reply

