Dominant/Non-dominant Writing/Journaling

BruceManakaArt5

I like the feel of pen in hand, flowing upon a blank sheet of paper wire bound in my journal. I write, draw, doodle, play with words and forms everyday, not so much with intention to create pieces of art, books, blog posts, etc., but rather as a way to move energy in my body/mind.

For me, the purpose of journaling revolves around the connecting with, feeling, luxuriating in the creative life force in the body, experienced as a feeling of wholeness, bliss. The “mechanics” of writing, drawing is just a way to get energy moving…and what gets expressed on paper is a two dimensional representation of a multidimensional inner experience.

My approach to journaling is this: I use pen and ink so there is less likelihood that I would want to erase or edit what has been laid down on the paper. The contrast of black ink on paper seems to also evoke a sense of starkness and simplicity, which has a way of feeding my sensibilities.

I usually begin by writing out a simple question/invocation: “Dear Higher Self, what realms can I explore today?” I write this out with my right (dominant) hand. I then quickly change pen to my non-dominant left hand and write my response, without editing or judging what is expressed. At a certain point, when I feel it is the “right” time to do so, I’ll switch back to my right hand and begin drawing or doodling…again not editing or judging.

During this process I pay particular attention to the overall sensations of the body and whatever thoughts, feelings and emotions come up…without judging. For me, the main benefit that I find in doing this is in getting to that delicate balance point of fine awareness of the Bliss vibration in the spine. The process of writing and drawing then becomes less important, as the mind and body are vibrating in resonance with the wide ocean of the creative field.

This process can be experienced while typing at the computer, but for me the tactile feeling of pen and paper make it easier for me to feel deeply within myself.

Leave a comment

Filed under bliss, Creative Inspiration, Creative Writing, Creativity, Higher Self, mind, mindfulness, Observer, overtone singing, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

